Why a Master’s Degree? Why Georgia?

Posted on October 6, 2014 by

0


By Lindsey Campbell, Brookwood High School

Unabashedly I love learning. However, after graduating from the University of Georgia in 2003 with my Bachelor’s degree I found that I had quite enough of school.  Because of this, I had no problem with quickly dismissing any post from the University pertaining to the classics program.  Until finally six years ago, an offering intrigued me.  Ok.  It was time.  I was ready to go back to school.

I chose UGA for a variety of reasons.  Primarily, I enjoyed its proximity to my home.  I had just had my first child and was not ready to leave her for any extended period of time.  Secondly, the University felt like home.  However, for those of you not in my particular situation, i.e. living thirty minutes from Athens, graduating from UGA, etc, you might wonder if the Summer Classics Program is for you.

It is a rather lengthy program that generally takes four years during the summer.  I am the sort of person who enjoys a classroom atmosphere but could not fully devote to studies while teaching at the same time.  The University provided a wide variety of translation classes that covered Vergil, Ovid, Horace, Cicero, Sallust, Tacitus, etc.  The culture courses were interesting as well.  I appreciated that the faculty and staff fully considered the needs and desires of the students and worked toward creating schedules that met the conflicting demands of differing curricula, Advanced Placement…  I completed my courses during six-week sessions taking place in the summer.  The department also offered two seminar courses.  One course focused on introductory material for first year students.  The other course discussed and shared best teaching theories and practices.  In the third summer, the Classics department requires all students to pass a Reading List examination, which in retrospect helped me grow as a teacher even though it was arduous in its process.  During the last summer, I submitted a teaching project in lieu of a thesis.

I am very proud of the reading, work, and learning I have done at the University of Georgia.  I also believe that this program not only helped me learn more of the Classics but also helped me find my joy in personal learning again.  When my children no longer want to spend their summer time with me, I look forward to something similar where I can earn my Doctorate.  Doctor Campbell anyone?

A place to make and continue friendships. Behind the Camera: Seth Knowles.  From Left to Right: Ashley Allgood, Lindsey Campbell, Julie Crawford, Katie Walton, Adara Hinton

A place to make and continue friendships. Behind the Camera: Seth Knowles. From Left to Right: Ashley Allgood, Lindsey Campbell, Julie Crawford, Katie Walton, Adara Hinton

Posted in: Uncategorized